Fraudes y sus consecuencias: Pfizer Details Payments to Doctors and Researchers – NYTimes.com

Hechos según el New York Times:

– Pfizer comete un fraude sanitario al promover el uso ilegal de una droga para una indicación no aprobada.

– Pfizer tiene que pagar 2.300 millones de dólares por esa causa: “The company will pay a criminal fine of $1.195 billion, the largest criminal fine ever imposed in the United States for any matter. Pharmacia & Upjohn will also forfeit $105 million, for a total criminal resolution of $1.3 billion. In addition, Pfizer has agreed to pay $1 billion to resolve allegations under the civil False Claims Act that the company illegally promoted four drugs – Bextra; Geodon, an anti-psychotic drug; Zyvox, an antibiotic; and Lyrica, an anti-epileptic drug – and caused false claims to be submitted to government health care programs for uses that were not medically accepted indications and therefore not covered by those programs.” The Public Record.

– Según el New York Times (citando a K. Neese, portavoz de Pfizer) Pfizer tiene que publicar obligatoriamente (no en un gesto voluntario de transparencia) información pública sobre los pagos a médicos, grupos médicos, instituciones médicas de investigación: “Pfizer’s August 2009 Corporate Integrity Agreement with the Office of the Inspector General of the Justice Department.” Ver en la propia página de Pfizer: http://www.pfizer.com/responsibility/working_with_hcp/why_disclose_payments_to_hcp.jsp.

“A spokeswoman for Pfizer, Kristen E. Neese, said most of the disclosures were required by an integrity agreement that the company signed in August to settle a federal investigation into the illegal promotion of drugs for off-label uses.

Dr. Freda C. Lewis-Hall, Pfizer’s chief medical officer, characterized the disclosure and Web site as part of “a march to disclosure” that the company started in 2002.”

The Public Record aclara las cosas en http://pubrecord.org/law/4591/pfizer-pleads-guilty-felony-billion/

“American pharmaceutical giant Pfizer Inc. and its subsidiary, Pharmacia & Upjohn Company Inc., have agreed to pay $2.3 billion, the largest health care fraud settlement in the history of the Department of Justice, to resolve criminal and civil liability arising from the illegal promotion of certain pharmaceutical products, the Justice Department announced today.

Pfizer is the world’s largest researched-based pharmaceutical company

Pfizer has agreed to plead guilty to a felony violation of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act for misbranding Bextra with the intent to defraud or mislead.”

Pfizer Gives Details on Payments to Doctors:  Pfizer Details Payments to Doctors and Researchers – NYTimes.com.

Dado que Pfizer no es la única empresa del ramo que incurre en estas prácticas, cualquier alegato de responsabilidad social (“social responsibility”) de la industria farmacéutica queda aclarado.

12 comentarios to “Fraudes y sus consecuencias: Pfizer Details Payments to Doctors and Researchers – NYTimes.com”

  1. II Encontro Serasa das Empresas de Fomento Mercantil – Parte 5 | Leasing Mexico Says:

    […] Fraudes y sus consecuencias: Pfizer Details Payments to Doctors and Researchers – NYTimes.com … […]

  2. Luxury Spa Breaks Says:

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll
    learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for
    the next!

  3. promotion parquet Says:

    Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be interesting to read articles from other
    writers and use a little something from their web sites.

  4. Izetta Says:

    Aw, this was an extremely good post. Taking the time and actual effort to generate a
    top notch article… but what can I say… I hesitate a
    whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  5. Storage Dayton Says:

    Howdy! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as yours take a lot of work?

    I’m completely new to operating a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to
    start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

  6.  chaudes Says:

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyways, amazing site!

  7. building inspector melbourne Says:

    A family member recommended me to your website. Thnx for the
    details.

  8. mouse click the next site Says:

    Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your
    blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot
    faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider
    at a reasonable price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

  9. Eleanore Says:

    Can I publish your put up to my wordpress blog? I will add a
    one way link to your forum. That’s one really great post.

  10. laser spine institute locations Says:

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  11. buy levitra Says:

    Hello i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read
    this post i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant paragraph.

  12. mdansby religious suite Says:

    The major advantage of using these software is they offer exactly what your business needs.
    The IT companies like in US, UK and Canada form the dedicated offshore companies’ helps us in chopping down in saving the big costs that would be around 40-60% of development costs. It saves a lot of time and money because these offshore companies incur low cost to develop large number of projects.

Responder

